David R. Fillman      View Video Greeting

David Fillman is the Executive Director of Council 13 of the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees. Established in 1971, Council 13 is the largest public sector union in the Commonwealth, and today the union represents more than 65,000 employees of Pennsylvania and its counties, municipalities, cities, school districts, authorities, non-profits and health care facilities.

In 2002, Fillman was unanimously elected by the Executive Board to fill the final year of his predecessor's unexpired term.  Since then, he was elected for a second three-year term at Council 13's 35th Annual Convention in April of 2007, re-elected for a third three-year term at Council 13's 38th Annual Convention in April of 2010, and re-elected for a fourth three-year term at Council 13's 41st Annual Convention in April of 2013.

During Fillman's leadership, Council 13 has added more than 4,500 new members to its ranks, including employees from Northwestern Human Services, the state's largest provider of mental health and mental retardation services.

Fillman serves as Vice President of AFSCME’s International union, which represents more than 1.6 million public employees in the U.S. and Puerto Rico.

Fillman serves as Chair of the Pennsylvania Employees Benefit Trust Fund, which administers benefits for more than 200,000 participants including Commonwealth employees, their dependents, and retirees. In addition, Fillman sits on the Board of the State Employees Retirement System, which administers benefits for more than 100,000 retirees of the Commonwealth. Fillman also chairs AFSCME's Health and Welfare Fund, which handles supplemental benefits for participating Non-State Locals.

He also serves as Chair for the Coalition for Labor Engagement and Accountable Revenue (CLEAR).  CLEAR is a coalition of labor organizations, including Council 13, representing more than 1.1 million Pennsylvanians.  CLEAR advocates for a fair and stable state budget.

He serves on the International Union's Pension Committee; served on the International Union's Search Committee for President of the United States; and also served as a Delegate-at-Large to the 2004 Democratic National Committee, and an Alternate Delegate to the 2000 Democratic National Convention.

Fillman's work on numerous boards has resulted in many honors, including:

  • "Man of the Year" Awards from the Montgomery County Central Labor Council, the Chester County
       Central Labor Council, and the Pennsylvania AFL-CIO's Work and Family Committee;
  • The "Bayard Rustin Award" from the Philadelphia Chapter of the A. Philip Randolph Institute;
  • The "Labor Recognition Award" from the United Way of Southeastern Pennsylvania;
  • The "Outstanding Labor Leadership in Job Safety and Health Award" from the Philadelphia Project on
       Occupational Safety and Health (PhilaPOSH); and
  • The “Labor Human Rights Award" from the Jewish Labor Committee of Philadelphia.
  • 2008 National Convention Committee
  • Peggy Browning Fund Honoree
  • "Outstanding Labor Honoree" from the Greater Westmoreland County Labor Council
  • 2012 "Recognition of Outstanding Contributions to Community Services" by Central PA Area Labor Federation
  • 2012 PA AFL-CIO COPE Honoree

Fillman began his affiliation with AFSCME while working for the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation as a Diesel Mechanic. He quickly rose through the ranks to become a leader in Local 2159 (Montgomery County Maintenance and Trades Employees), serving as Recording Secretary in 1972, and subsequently as President for five years. Fillman then joined the staff of AFSCME, serving as a Staff Representative from 1978 to 1993 before his appointment to the position of Director of AFSCME District Council 88, which represents more than 12,000 public employees and health care workers in Berks, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Lehigh, Montgomery, Northampton and Philadelphia counties. Fillman was also active in the Montgomery County AFL-CIO Central Labor Council, holding elected leadership positions in the organization beginning in 1975, including President (1987 to 1993).





All Content © AFSCME 2006 - All Rights Reserved Website by Imageco