Council 13 members recognized for excellent service to fellow Pennsylvanians

Like most things, the Governor’s Awards for Excellence ceremony looked a little different this year, but the accomplishments of the 49 award recipients were as remarkable as ever.

“They have demonstrated innovation, work ethic, self-sacrifice, and compassion for others at the highest levels. The positive impacts of their efforts will be felt for many years to come,” Governor Tom Wolf said.

Multiple AFSCME Council 13 members were recognized, including Tyler Banas, member of AFSCME Local 2587 (Philadelphia County Clericals) and Food Distribution Representative for the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, for his work securing food access to 1.3 million low-income Pennsylvanians through the department’s Bureau of Food Assistance.  Read more here

Clayton Lutz, member of AFSCME Local 1976 (Inspectors Non-Professional – District 2 & State Professional – District 2) and Wildlife Biologist for the Pennsylvania Game Commission, was part of a team of eight Game Commission employees who worked to give the state bird, the ruffed grouse, a better chance to recover from dramatic population declines caused by West Nile virus.  Read more here

Christopher Inman, member of AFSCME Local 2249 (State Supervisory Employees – District 12) and Purchasing Agent Supervisor for the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, and Timothy Mankey, member of AFSCME Local 2459 (State Professional Employees – District 11) and Traffic Control Specialist for the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, are among a group of employees being recognized for their resilience following PennDOT’s Greene County maintenance office being destroyed in a fire last year. Despite having no building to operate from, staff continued operations in Greene County with no interruption in services to the public. They also worked quickly to secure both a temporary office space and a garage space.  Read more here

Congratulations and thank you to our AFSCME sisters and brothers, and to all the award recipients, for their outstanding service to our commonwealth.